Apply now for the 2022 Whitley Awards

Applications are open until 31 October 2021!

What is a Whitley Award?

Whitley Awards – our flagship prizes – are available to grassroots conservation leaders working across the Global South. They support dynamic, mid-career conservationists who are seeking to scale-up effective community-based projects that would benefit from further funding, recognition and international support.

These coveted prizes are won competitively following assessment by an expert panel and are presented by our Patron, HRH The Princess Royal, at an annual ceremony. Meet the 2021 Whitley Award winners and find out what winning could help you achieve in the video below.


  • £40,000 in project funding over one year.
  • International media spotlight.
  • Communications training, tailor-made films and PR support.
  • A peer network of over 200 Whitley Award alumni across 80 countries.
  • The chance to apply for further funding through WFN’s Continuation Funding and Gold Award programmes.

How do I apply?

If you are a conservation leader looking for funding and support (or if you know of one), you can find all the information you need to apply, here. Anyone can apply for a Whitley Award. You do not need to be invited or nominated to apply.


Applications for the 2022 Whitley Awards are currently open and close at midnight GMT on 31st October 2021.

We hope to hold our annual awards ceremony in London in spring 2022, as part of a week of training and networking. If COVID-19 prevents us coming together in person we will hold virtual events instead.

2019 Whitley Award winners